46th Circuit Court

The 46th Circuit Court is comprised of Crawford, Kalkaska and Otsego Counties. Two Circuit Court judges travel the circuit and hold court in each county on various days.

The circuit court is the trial court with the broadest powers in Michigan. In general, the circuit court handles all civil cases with claims of more than $25,000 and all felony criminal cases (cases where the accused, if found guilty, could be sent to prison).

The family division of circuit court handles all domestic relations cases regarding divorce, paternity, adoptions, personal protection actions, emancipation of minors, treatment and testing of infectious disease, safe delivery of newborns, name changes, juvenile offenses and delinquency, juvenile guardianship, and child abuse and neglect. In addition, the circuit court hears cases appealed from the other trial courts or from administrative agencies. 

The Friend of the Court office is part of the family division of the circuit court and assists with implementing and enforcing orders related to custody, parenting time, child support and spousal support.

A court administrator is appointed in each county to assist the judges with administrative matters, including policies and procedures for each county. Court policies, procedures and rules are governed by one or more of the following authorities: Federal and Michigan Constitutions, Federal or Michigan Statutes, Michigan Court Rules, Michigan Supreme Court Administrative Orders, directives from the State Court Administrator’s Office, directives from state regulatory agencies, or local directives from the Chief Judge.

Crawford County

200 W. Michigan Ave.
Grayling, MI 49738

Kalkaska County

605 N Birch St.
Kalkaska, MI 49646

Otsego County

225 W. Main Street
Gaylord, MI 49735

© 2023 Copyright • Produced by Michigan Digital • All rights reserved